2017 Australian Derby Field, Barriers & Odds

Australian Derby Day

The Group 1 2017 Australian Derby exists as one of the most prestigious events in Australian racing, although not quite as popular as Melbourne’s annual Melbourne Cup.

Exclusively for three-year-olds, it is a top ranked event in Australia and New Zealand for horses of that age and offers a huge prize pool of $2 million.Australian Derby Day

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

The 2017 Australian Derby will be held on April 1st, 2017.

At 2400 metres, the Australian Derby provides a genuine staying test and sees some of the most promising three-year-olds in the country line up to chase Group 1 glory.

Hend annually in March or April, Australian Derby Day takes place as one of the biggest feature meetings at the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

Punters flock to Royal Randwick Racecourse to get a glimpse of the best up-and-coming stayers in the country, with many Australian Derby champions going on to win events such as the Melbourne Cup and the Caulfield Cup.

While the three-year-old feature is undoubtedly the highlight on Australian Derby Day, there is plenty of other exciting racing action.

Other races to take place on Australian Derby Day include the Group 1 TJ Smith for sprinters, the Group 1 Inglis Sires’ Produce Stakes for two-year-olds and the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes.

The Championships Day 1

Inaugurated in 2014, The Championships at Royal Randwick is a two day event of top quality racing, featuring some of the greatest thoroughbreds in Australia competing in some of the nation’s most prestigious races. With nearly $20 million prize money available over the two days, The Championships truly is a racing extravaganza. Besides the Australian Derby odds, the races featuring on The Championships Day 1 are:


First running in 1861, the Australian Derby was originally named the AJC Randwick Derby Stakes before changing to the AJC Australia Derby Stakes from 1856 until 1873.

In 1873 it underwent another name change when called the AJC Derby which it remained until it got changing to its current name in 1993.

The Australian Derby was originally run over 1.5 miles (2414m) but changed to the metric system distance of 2400 metres in 1972.

Under Australian racing regulations, geldings were banned from the event from 1932 to 1956.


Some of the most famous horses in Australian history have won the Australian Derby including the great Phar Lap, Tulloch and Kingston Town.

It is not unusual for Australian Derby winners to progress on to bigger and better things at open level, with many Derby winners going on to win some of the nation’s most prestigious races.

Champion 10-time Group 1 winning horse Octagonal holds the record for the fastest time of 2.28.41.

See below for the recent Australian Derby winners then head to Ladbrokes.com.au to back the winner of the Melbourne Cup 2017!

List of Winners since 1979

Year Winner
2016 Tavago
2015 Mongolian Khan
2014 Criterion
2013 It’s A Dundeel
2012 Ethiopia
2011 Shamrocker
2010 Shoot Out
2009 Roman Emperor
2008 Nom Du Jeu
2007 Fiumicino
2006 Headturner
2005 Eremein
2004 Starcraft
2003 Clangalang
2002 Don Eduardo
2001 Universal Prince
2000 Fairway
1999 Sky Heights
1998 Gold Guru
1997 Ebony Grosve
1996 Octagonal
1995 Ivory’s Irish
1994 Mahogany
1993 Innocent King
1992 Naturalism
1991 Durbridge
1990 Dr. Grace
1989 Research
1988 Beau Zam
1987 Myocard
1986 Bonecrusher
1985 Tristarc
1984 Prolific
1983 Strawberry Road
1982 Rose of Kingston
1981 Our Paddy Boy
1980 Kingston Town
1979 Dulcify

Australian Derby Day News

Kiwi colt Jon Snow became the fourth New Zealand trained three year old in the last five year’s to win the Group 1 $2m BMW Australian Derby (2400m) at Randwick on day one of ‘The Championships’ today. Co-trainer Murray Baker was able to win the 2013 Australian Derby with It’s…